MPSA Award Recipients - 2017

The MPSA sponsors many awards for outstanding research presented at the MPSA Conference and one award for the best article published in each volume of the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS). Nominations are made by conference chairs, discussants, and section heads after the conference. Award committees select the winning papers. Awards are announced at the MPSA business meeting during the conference the following year.


The MPSA Awards Program honoring research from the 2016 conference will be held Saturday, April 8 (4:45 - 6:15pm) at the Palmer House Hilton.


The following awards will be presented at the 2017 conference for research presented at the 2016 conference:

Best Paper by an Emerging Scholar

A $250 award for the best paper, regardless of field or topic, by a scholar or scholars who has or have received the terminal degree(s) within six years of the year in which the paper was presented.

Vigilante Mobilization and Local Order: Evidence from Mexico
Javier Osorio, City University of New York
Livia I. Schubiger, London School of Economics
Michael Weintraub, Binghamton University, SUNY

Award Committee: Suzanna Linn, Penn State University (Chair); Danny Hayes, George Washington University; David Stasavage, New York University


Best Paper in International Relations

A $250 award for the best paper on the topic of international relations.

Rural Grievances, Landholding Inequality and Civil Conflict
Henry Roderick Thomson, University of Oxford

Award Committee: Vesna Danilovic, University at Buffalo (Chair); David Cunningham, University of Maryland; Karl Kalenthaler, University of Akron


Best Paper Presented by a Graduate Student

A $250 award for best paper by delivered by a graduate student. 

Can New Procedures Improve the Quality of Policing? The Case of 'Stop, Question and Frisk' in New York City
Jonathan Mummolo, Stanford University

Award Committee: Rene Rocha, The University of Iowa (Chair); Leslie Schwindt-Baer, Rice University; Martin Johnson, Louisiana State University


Best Paper Presented in a Poster Format

A $250 award for the best paper presented in a poster format.

Mobile Phone Ownership, Gender, and Political Participation in Africa
Matthew Bondy, College of William & Mary

Award Committee: Marisa Abrajano, University of California, San Diego (Chair); Jason Barabas, Stony Brook University; Jie Lu, American University


Best Undergraduate Paper Presented in a Poster Format

A $250 award for the best paper presented in a poster format by an undergraduate.

The Effect of Nationality on Grass-root Volunteer and Donors Support for Nongovernmental Organizations 
Laura Boyer, Brigham Young University

Award Committee: Christine Lipsmeyer, Texas A&M University (Chair); Chris Mann, Skidmore College; Eric Gonzalez Juenke, Michigan State University


Kellogg/Notre Dame Award

A $250 award for the best paper in comparative politics.

Anti-Identities in Latin America: Chavismo, Fujimorismo, and Uribismo in Comparative Perspective 
Jennifer Cyr, University of Arizona
Carlos Meléndez, Universidad Diego Portales

Award Committee: Sarah Brooks, The Ohio State University (Chair); Alex Tan, University of Canterbury; Zeynep Somer-Topcu, The University of Texas at Austin


Kenneth J. Meier Award

A $250 award for the best paper in bureaucratic politics, public administration, or public policy.

Slow-Rolling, Fast-Tracking, and the Pace of Bureaucratic Decisions in Rulemaking 
Rachel Augustine Potter, University of Virginia

Award Committee: Vicky Wilkins, American University (Chair); Christopher Berry, University of Chicago; Valerie Martinez-Ebers, University of North Texas


Lucius Barker Award

A $250 award for the best paper on a topic investigating race or ethnicity and politics and honoring the spirit and work of Professor Barker.

Saved from a Second Slavery:  Black Voter Registration in Louisiana from Reconstruction to the Voting Rights Act
William Cubbison, George Washington University
Ismail White, George Washington University

Award Committee: Micheal Giles, Emory University (Chair); Lorrie Frasure-Yokley, University California, Los Angeles; Valeria Sinclair-Chapman, Purdue University


Review of Politics Award (co-winners)

A $250 award for the best paper in normative political theory.

Reparative Justice and the Moral Limits of Discretionary Philanthropy
Chiara Cordelli, University of Chicago

Edmund Burke and the Deliberative Sublime
Rob Goodman, Columbia University

Award Committee: Mark Warren, University of British Columbia (Chair); Clarissa Rile Hayward, Washington University, St. Louis; Eileen Hunt Botting, University of Notre Dame


Robert H. Durr Award

A $250 award for the best paper applying quantitative methods to a substantive problem.

Of Rents and Rumors:  Government Competence and Media Freedom in Authoritarian Countries 
Haifeng Huang, University of California, Merced
Yao-Yuan Yeh, University of California, Merced

Award Committee: Michael Alvarez, CalTech (Chair); Christina Wolbrecht, University of Notre Dame; David Siegel, Duke University


Sophonisba Breckinridge Award

A $250 award for the best paper on the topic of women and politics.

Making Space for Women: Explaining Citizen Support for Legislative Gender Quotas in Latin America
Tiffany D. Barnes, University of Kentucky
Abby Córdova, University of Kentucky

Award Committee: Mona Lena Krook, Rutgers University (Chair); Evelyn Simien, University of Connecticut; Sarah F. Anzia, UC Berkeley


Pi Sigma Alpha Award

A $250 award for the best paper presented at the MPSA Annual National Conference. Sponsored by Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society.

Judicial Federalism and Representation
Jonathan P. Kastellec, Princeton University

Award Committee: Peter Enns, Cornell University (Chair); Irfan Nooruddin, Georgetown University; Lonna Atkeson, University of New Mexico


AJPS Best Article Award

A $1,000 award for the best article appearing in the volume of the American Journal of Political Science published in the year preceding the conference.

Sources of Authoritarian Responsiveness: A Field Experiment in China
Jidong Chen, Beijing Normal University
Jennifer Pan, Stanford University
Yiqing Xu, University of California, San Diego

Award Committee: Adam Berinsky, MIT (Chair); Margit Tavits, Washington University, St. Louis; Vera Troeger, University of Warwick