Renew or Join Now

What's New at MPSA

Give to MPSA Award & Scholarship Funds

Eight Honored for New MPSA Awards

The 65th MPSA National Conference marked the first year for four new awards: the AJPS Best Paper, the Kellogg/Notre Dame Award, the Review of Politics Award, and the Best Paper in International Relations.

Mark Copelovitch, University of Wisconsin at Madison, and David Andrew Singer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, are the first recipients of the Kellogg/Notre Dame Award for Best Paper in Comparative Politics for their paper, “Financial Regulation, Monetary Policy, and Inflation in the Industrialized World.” Initial financial support was provided by the Kellogg Institute for International Studies at the University of Notre Dame.

Jeff Motter and Melanie Loehwing, Indiana University, are the first winners of the Review of Politics Award for Best Paper in Normative Political Theory for their paper “Difference in Rhetorical Public Sphere.” Financial support is provided by the Review of Politics.

Erik Gartzke, University of California, San Diego, and Alex Weisiger, Olin Institute for Strategic Studies, are the first to be recognized for the Best Paper in International Relations Award for their paper, “Dynamic Difference and the Democratic Peace.” Initial funding was provided by the Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies at University of Notre Dame.

The AJPS Best Paper Award, also new this year, recognizes the best paper appearing in the volume of the American Journal of Political Science published in the year preceding the conference.  This is a $1,000 cash award sponsored by Wiley Blackwell Publishing. Two articles published in volume 51, issue 1, shared this year’s honors: Tasha S. Philpot, University of Texas at Austin, and Hanes Walton, Jr., University of Michigan, for “One of Our Own: Black Female Candidates and the Voters Who Support Them,” and Eric Gartzke, University of California, San Diego, for “The Capitalist Peace.” Pictured here are Hanes Walton, Jr. (left), Tasha Philpot (center), and Laurel Weldon (right) of the award committee.


John Scholz, recipient of this year's Herbert Simon Award, is pictured to the right with Sanford Gordon (left), chair of the 2007-2008 Herbert Simon Award Committee.

Nominations for best paper awards presented at the 2008 conference can be made by discussants, panel chairs, and section heads. Just send an e-mail to awards@mpsanet.org and include the following information:

Nominations are due by July 1, 2008.

You can read about all of this year’s award winners at http://www.mpsanet.org/~mpsa/Awards/awardees.html.

If you are interested in supporting one or more of these awards, please send a check to MPSA Awards & Scholarships, 320 W. 8th St., Bloomington, IN 47404. Indicate which award(s) you are supporting.