MPSA Committees

The President appoints members to ad hoc committees, such as selection committees for a new publisher, editor, or executive director, and other committees that may be needed to assist with specific issues.

The President-Elect appoints members to the following committees:

Awards Committees

There are three members on each committee, and the appointments are made by February. Committee members appointed in a given year make their selections in the autumn and winter of that year, and the chair of each committee presents the award the following year during the Business Meeting at the Annual Conference. (The appointments for the Herb Simon Award Committee are made after receiving suggestions from the President of the Midwest Public Administration Caucus.)

Harrell Rodgers Graduate Student Travel Scholarship Committee

The members of this committee select recipients of the competitively awarded travel scholarships to attend the MPSA Annual Conference. 

Harrell Rodgers Scholarship Committee 
This scholarship, sponsored by the Policy Studies Association, provides $500 for doctoral students to attend the MPSA Annual Conference.
Award Committee:  Kris Kanthak, University of Pittsburgh (Chair); Joe Ura, Texas A&M University; Meghan Leonard, Illinois State University

Investment Committee

This standing committee is chaired by the Treasurer, and includes the three Vice Presidents and the Executive Director. The committee reviews the investments and can recommend changes in the investment policy. 

Nominations Committee

Nominations for officers are solicited from the membership, and the nominations committee selects a slate of officers, including:

  • President-Elect (who will serve as President and then as Immediate Past President)
  • Five Councilors, serving three-year terms
  • One Vice President, serving a two-year term
  • Any other vacancies on the Council; these Councilors will serve the remainder of the term

The election of officers occurs during the Business Meeting at the Annual Conference. The Executive Director, Treasurer, Program Chairperson(s), and Editor(s) are appointed officers.

President-Elect Jan Leighley has selected the following individuals for appointment at the 2016 MPSA conference to serve as the Nominations Committee for officers and council members to be elected in 2017.

Nominations Committee 2017:

Beth Leech, Rutgers University (Chair)
Lee Ann Banaszak, Pennsylvania State University
Sara Mitchell, University of Iowa
Darren Davis, University of Notre Dame
Gary Segura, Stanford University


Conference Program Committee

The Program Chair(s) appoint the members of the conference program committee no later than February of the year prior to the conference for which they are responsible. Each committee member serves as chair of a section (a subfield or a slice of a subfield) and is responsible for accepting or rejecting proposals submitted to their section. In addition, committee members/section chairs organize accepted papers into panels and identify chairs and discussants for each panel. Committee members meet in September at the American Political Science Association conference, about six months prior to their MPSA conference, where they receive a program manual with detailed instructions. 

2017 Conference Program Committee