Dear Colleagues: we are pleased to share with you an update on the American Journal of

Political Science (AJPS) editorial transition.

INTERIM EDITORIAL TEAM: Professor Jan Leighley of American University has agreed to take over as Lead Interim Editor of the AJPS. She will be taking over editorial operations and re- opening the portal for new submissions (and resubmissions) on May 21, 2018. Jan comes with outstanding editorial experience, having previously served as co-editor of the AJPS (2002-2005) as well as the Journal of Politics (2009-2014). Jan is recruitng a team of associate interim editors who will work with her on all aspects of the editorial process. The rest of the team will be announced on or near the re-opening date.

EDITORIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE: Professor Rick Wilson of Rice University has agreed to chair the search committee for the new editorial team. Rick will be joined by John Ishiyama (North Texas University), Sara Mitchell (University of Iowa), Kathy Cramer (University of Wisconsin), and Tasha Philpot (University of Texas, Austin). The RFP is now posted on the MPSA and AJPS websites, and will be widely shared in other appropriate venues. If you are interested in submitting a proposal or have any questions, please contact Rick Wilson (, Liz Gerber (, or Will Morgan (MPSA Executive Director,

Thank you for your patience and support as we work through this editorial transition. We are grateful for the generous efforts of so many colleagues who are committed to ensuring a strong future for the AJPS and the MPSA.

Elisabeth Gerber, MPSA President
Vince Hutchings, MPSA Past President
Sarah Binder, MPSA President-Elect
William Morgan, MPSA Executive Director