Conference Updates

2020 Call for Proposals - Paper, roundtable, complete panel, subfield, undergraduate and working group proposals are now being accepted for the 2020 MPSA Annual Conference

Deadline Extended - Paper, roundtable, and complete panel proposals 

Missed the submission deadline? The section heads will take your paper, roundtable, and complete panel proposals for a few more days. Take advantage of the system still being open and submit today!

Subfield, undergraduate, and working group proposals due December 5th, 2019.

When you are signed in to the website, a gold "Submit Proposal" button will appear below.

Plan a Conference-Within-A-Conference for 2020 - Working group participants commit to attend a small group of related or organized sessions. A volunteer coordinator for each working group proposes a theme, selects and/or organizes sessions for the group to attend, promotes the working group, and facilitates communication among participants. Please contact MPSA Conference Director Tamara Speelmon at speelmon@mpsanet.org to learn more.

Ready to get involved with MPSA?

There are a variety of ways to get involved even if you have only fifteen, thirty, or sixty minutes! Learn more about how to share your time and talents with the discipline.


Attention! - Please be aware that someone has been making fraudulent calls impersonating an MPSA representative and warning that hotel rates for the MPSA conference are going up next week. These calls are NOT authorized by MPSA and the hotel block for the 2020 conference has not opened yet. If you are contacted about hotel rates by someone claiming to be from MPSA, let us know at conf@mpsanet.org or 812.558.0588.

The Bert and Phyllis Lamb Prize in Political Science - Selection criteria, instructions for applying, and application available at https://lambprize.org/. Deadline February 21, 2020.

Research in Social Movements, Conflict, and Change (RSMCC) Call for Papers for Volume 45 (Special Issue) - RSMCC is a fully peer-reviewed series of original research that has been published annually for over 40 years. It publishes the work of many of the leading scholars in social movements, social change, nonviolent action, and peace and conflict studies.  This Special Issue of Research in Social Movements, Conflicts and Change, commemorates the 50th anniversary of the May 4, 1970 shooting by the Ohio National Guard of Kent State students during a demonstration against the US wars in Vietnam and Cambodia and the occupation of the Kent State campus by the Ohio National Guard in Kent, OH, USA. Paper submission are due by January 15th, 2020. More information can be found here. 

Repositioning SBE's Programs: Opportunities to Learn More - The social, behavioral, and economic (SBE) sciences have a tremendous impact on quality of life.  With increasingly rigorous methods and an increasingly diverse workforce, the SBE sciences are making transformative advances in many areas. At NSF, we are looking for ways to build on that progress. With this goal in mind, the SBE Directorate is proud to announce a repositioning of some of its basic research programs, as described in this  Dear Colleague Letter. SBE is hosting a series of webinars and virtual office hours to present details about what the repositioning means for SBE research communities. SBE Assistant Director, Arthur Lupia, will walk participants through the proposed changes during each webinar and will be on hand during virtual office hours to answer participant questions after a very brief overview presentation. Closed captioning will be provided for all events, please contact SBE IT Help (sbeithelp@nsf.gov) for any additional requirements. Visit https://www.nsf.gov/news/news_summ.jsp?cntn_id=299267&org=SBE&from=news for more information.

Register to be a Potential Reviewer for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) - The National Science Foundation (NSF) invites graduate students to register as potential reviewers for the 2020 Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP). GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students pursuing research-based masters and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and STEM Education at accredited, non-profit US institutions of higher education. visit https://nsfgrfp.org/ for more information.

Call for Applicants: CASBS Residential Fellowship Program - The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University is now accepting applications for residential fellowships for the 2020–21 academic year. Online applications will be accepted at the Center’s website through November 1, 2019. Read the complete call for applicants .pdf.

Call for Applicants: Jefferson Science Fellowship  - The JSF is open to tenured, or similarly ranked, faculty from U.S. institutions of higher learning who are U.S. citizens. The application period opens in early August and closes at the end of October. After successfully obtaining a security clearance, selected Jefferson Science Fellows spend one year on assignment at the U.S. Department of State or USAID as science advisors on foreign policy/international development issues. Assignments are tailored to the needs of the hosting office, while taking into account the Fellows’ interests and areas of expertise. Application period is open August 1 - October 31, 2019.  Learn more about JSF Opportunities at the U.S. Department of State .

IIE-SRF Partnerships for Scholar Advancement Seeks  Advisors - The Institute of International Education Scholar Rescue Fund (IIE-SRF)  through their  Partnerships for Scholar Advancement (PSA) program seeks advisors  who commit to offering time, advice, and/or networks to help IIE-SRF fellows overcome obstacles that may prevent the fellow from reaching her or his career goals.  Fellows are accomplished scholars who having faced threats to their lives and careers in their home countries, have been awarded one- to two-year fellowships worldwide to resume their research and teaching.  Advisorships are among the most effective ways for displaced fellows to work through challenges  to securing longer-term positions and opportunities in academia and related sectors. Possible advisor roles include CV/resume assistance, cover letter preparation, career advice, etc. For additional information, please visit the  IIE-SRF PSA program page or contact Olga Gregorian at ogregorian@iie.org.

An Invitation to Submit News Items  - Please share news of promotions, awards (calls for nomination and recipient announcements welcome), and other good news by submitting the information via this brief form. MPSA staff will verify the information prior to sharing on the website, in the monthly newsletter (delivered mid-month), and in social media (as appropriate).