MPSA Awards - Call for Nominations

The MPSA sponsors many awards for outstanding research presented at the MPSA Conference and one award for the best article published in each volume of the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS). With the exception of Flagship Awards and the Herbert Simon Career Contribution Award, nominations are made by conference chairs, discussants, and section heads after the conference; award committees select the winning papers, and awards are announced at the MPSA business meeting during the conference the following year. See left sidebar for a history of MPSA Award Recipients.

Self-nominations are not permitted. Those serving as section heads, panel chairs, and panel discussants at the 2019 MPSA conference may nominate papers for the following awards.

The deadline for submitting award nominations is July 1, 2019. Questions? Please email mpsainfo@mpsanet.org.

Flagship Awards:

  • Pi Sigma Alpha Award. A $250 award for the best paper presented at the annual MPSA conference. Sponsored by Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society.  Nomination pool will consist of papers selected for the field awards.
  • AJPS Best Article Award. A $1,000 award for the best article appearing in the volume of the American Journal of Political Science published in the year preceding the conference. All published articles in this timeframe will be considered.
  • Field Awards:

    Subfield Awards:

    • Lucius Barker Award. A $250 award for the best paper on a topic investigating race or ethnicity and politics and honoring the spirit and work of Professor Barker.
    • Patrick J. Fett Award. A $250 award for the best paper on the scientific study of Congress and the presidency.
    • Sophonisba Breckinridge Award. A $250 award for the best paper on the topic of women and politics.
    • NEW for 2019 - Richard E. Matland Award. A $250 award for the best paper by an emerging scholar in representation, elections, or voting.

    Career Stage Awards: 

    • Best Paper by an Emerging Scholar. A $250 award for the best paper, regardless of field or topic, by a scholar or scholars who has or have received the terminal degree(s) within six years of the year in which the paper was presented.
    • Best Paper by a Graduate Student Award. A $250 award for best paper delivered by a graduate student.
    • Best Paper by an Undergraduate Student Award. A $250 award for the best paper delivered by an undergraduate.
    • Herbert Simon Award. A $500 award for a scholar who has made a significant contribution to the scientific study of bureaucracy. Submissions are handled by the Midwest Caucus on Policy Administration.